Cinque Terre is in the Liguria region between La Spezia and Genoa. Cinque Terre means ‘five lands’ and these delightful five self-contained villages clinging to the cliffs has become a must see for travellers across the globe.

Terre consist of Monterosso al Mare, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola and Riomaggiore. Initially only reachable by sea, today there is still not road linking all the villages but an ancient footpath, the Sentiero Assurro. Less energetic travellers can use a combination of train and boat between the villages.

Although Portovenere  is not part of Cinque Terre, it is an equally beautiful village on the most western tip of the Gulf of La Spezia.

I have known about Cinque Terre for a long time and I have seen many pictures but nothing compares to the actual experience. I will certainly return!

I am a freelance tour leader for Dobro Travel,